nine05

life in balance

On the Road: Grey’s Fabric & Notions

1 Comment

boston1

We don’t really have a great contemporary sewing shop in DC, so whenever I travel I search out shops that can sell me good garment fabric or interesting embroidery notions. While up in Boston last week, Camille and I stopped by Grey’s Fabric & Notions to have a look at their space. The shop is great – very modern and stocked with indie patterns and great modern embroidery motifs and supplies, too. Their notions were tempting and adorably displayed – both Camille and I want to make our own color-coordinated St. Germain button jars now! And the service couldn’t have been better – the woman behind the counter was so helpful to both of us, giving us space to browse when needed but also jumping in to help out whenever we needed it.

greys3

I was in it for the knits and I wasn’t disappointed – they had a great selection of knit fabrics in solids and patterns, including an adorable fox print that I had a really hard time not buying. I contented myself with a bottomweight black knit for yoga pants and an orange and grey thin stripe for a t-shirt, but I could have easily bought a lot more than I did. Grey’s is definitely going on my list to visit again the next time I’m in Boston!

greys4

One thought on “On the Road: Grey’s Fabric & Notions

  1. My new favorite crafting store! Great shot of the button bottle. xoxox

Leave a Reply

