nine05

life in balance

Year in Photos

1 Comment

Wow, what a year. He got his doctorate; I quit my job; we went to Paris, Iceland and the UK together and I travelled to Massachusetts, New Hampshire, NYC and Tennessee alone, as well as an earth-shifting trip back to Austin. Following Susannah Conway’s lead, I wanted to put together a year in photos post – twelve photos, one for each month. Turns out it’s nigh impossible to choose 12 photos for a year this full. I put the ones that made the cut into collages here for the sake of your scrolling fingers.

Jan-Apr
January through April. Struggling with the loss of my aunt, challenged by my workload, finding solace in the company of some soul sisters.
May-June
May and June. He graduates with his PhD, a year ahead of schedule. A challenging time at Squam as I struggle with what’s ahead. I take him to Europe to celebrate all we’ve been through in the last seven years together.
squam3-3
September. That lake. Healing magic.
Sept-Nov
September through November. Loving souls. Embroidery head-banging sessions. The mother tree. The best dinner party I’ve ever attended. Wild insomnia.
Nov-Dec
November through December. The wheel keeps on turning and the city keeps changing. Knitting the damage back together. Being at home – at home.

Many of the women I know have been inspired by this exercise – I’d encourage all of you to try it – it is amazing the ground we cover in a year. If you do post your own year in photos I would love to see it – please do share in the comments! Should you want to see the full images from my set and some longer-winded accompanying stories, click over here to my Flickr set, which includes the full size images as well as a couple of bonus shots.

One thought on “Year in Photos

  1. I feel so honored to be in your year of photos!!! xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

